Top 10 Foods To Avoid If You’re Gluten Intolerant


A long, long time ago, celiacs had sparse choices when dining out. They had to stick to animal and vegetable options, which is not the easiest in carb-happy America. A veritable gluten revolution has since occurred and gluten-free options are now readily available. Still, if you are a celiac or otherwise bothered by gluten, it is handy to know some common foods that contain the stuff so you don’t end up with a debilitating stomach ache.

How Do I Know If I am Gluten Intolerant?

If you’ve frequently experienced crippling pain in your intestines after eating, there’s a chance you have celiacs disease. The Celiac Disease Foundation listed these symptoms of the disease: abdominal bloating and pain, diarrhea, vomiting, fatigue, ADHD, and weight loss. If you suspect you experience these symptoms then you should go get a blood test and intestinal biopsy.

Even if you don’t have celiac disease, there is still a possibility you are gluten intolerant. People with gluten sensitivity may have symptoms as severe as those of celiac disease, says Melinda Dennis, RD. So note if you experience the symptoms above after you eat the foods on this list.

Foods To Avoid If You’re Gluten Intolerant

  1. Pasta: Including but not limited to macaronis, rigatoni, fettuccine, gnocchi, spaghetti, whole wheat pasta, and refined white pasta.
  2. Pancakes: …and waffles, french toast, biscuits and other delicious breakfast foods are off the list.
  3. Beer: Most beer contains gluten, but some such as Shiner Bock are safe to drink.
  4. Soup: Ask before you order soup, many are thickened with starch or flour.
  5. Soy Sauce: This sodium-laden condiment should be avoided anyway, but it has wheat and thus is a no-go for the gluten-intolerant.
  6. Baked Goods: Most decadent deserts will hit you where it hurts if you don’t process gluten well.
  7. Couscous: Sad but true, but this healthy food is full of gluten. Stay away!
  8. Oats: While oats are gluten-free, most are processed in plants where gluten grains are all over the plants and might cross-contaminate your Quakers.
  9. Bread: Rye bread, barley bread, whole grain bread, 9 seed bread, white bread, the list of gluten offenders is a long one for this dietary staple.
  10. Flour Tortillas: Skip the tortilla, save the calories, and protect your intestines, because this is a no-go for celiacs.


Leave a Reply